Customize load scale to BAR scale.

Discuss possible software enhancements/changes here.

Moderator: Matt

streetbike

Customize load scale to BAR scale.

Post by streetbike »

Is it possible to modify the scale in BAR in nistune ?

because it stays allways from -0.7 to +0.5 and it can be more simple if we can adapt it to the real boost scale.

I don't think if I am as clear as I want .....
Legionnaire

Post by Legionnaire »

I'm not a developer of nistune, but to be honest i find the way it works now (MAF based load scale) convenient and i dont think it will be any better with pressure based load sensing - because of the following:
- your engine load is not purely intake manifold pressire (IMP) dependent
- pressure will not always range from -0.7 to 0.5 bar - if you have some impressive long duration cams, a lot of reversion near idle will raise IMP qute a bit and your idle will end up in the middle of the preset IMP scale; on the other hand if you are going to use high boost, you will be off scale
- stock nissan ecu works this way and nistune just reflects internal data structures of the stock ecu, so making another MAP-oriented "software superstructure" may only confuse tuners
- i think rescaling for another MAF is going to be PITA for different displacement engines when using pressure-based scale - because IMP change when not in a steady state will be VE dependent and you will inherit all the flaws that MAP-based ecus have without any real MAP benefit, and you have to calibrate and adjust maf to pressure translation properly for each combination of components that you have. Considering amount of time required to get K-value right, my opinion is that trying to assign pressure values to load scale values is close to waste of time.

That is my IMHO
Cheers,
Petros Katunian
UNISA JECS

Post by UNISA JECS »

You can do like I do and just put a name to the TP load scale via the use of a MAP senor.