Flat shift

Discuss possible software enhancements/changes here.

Moderator: Matt

skylinegtrhr
Posts: 293
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 1:50 am
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Flat shift

Post by skylinegtrhr » Mon Feb 08, 2016 8:53 am

Any chance to modified FW and use clutch switch for flat shift function?

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8286
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Flat shift

Post by Matt » Wed Feb 10, 2016 8:18 am

In most cases, there is a method of cutting the ignition and/or fuel delivery, in a similar fashion to a rev-limiter, which prevents the engine from over-revving when the load from the transmission is removed.
This should be possible. I would have to add an option for flash shift, and when the clutch switch (power steering line which is reused) is pushed in the fuel is cut (by forcing use of the rev limiter)

skylinegtrhr
Posts: 293
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 1:50 am
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Re: Flat shift

Post by skylinegtrhr » Fri Feb 12, 2016 8:13 am

thanks Matt
please include it on yours "to do " list :), it's big help to us circuit enthusiast :)

adamky
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 4:54 pm
Location: Louisville, KY, USA

Re: Flat shift

Post by adamky » Fri Feb 26, 2016 4:10 pm

So, what's the real difference between the settings that you would use for a launch control "2 step" rev limiter and flat shift? Can't you just set your launch control up to only be based on clutch switch input and not based on speed and accomplish the same thing as flat shift? So under WOT, you would keep the throttle floored, hit the clutch and the lower rev limiter used for lauch should kick in, right? Or maybe not?

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8286
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Flat shift

Post by Matt » Sat Feb 27, 2016 10:59 am

At the moment, LC is only activated either by

(a) default (speed = 0) and cancelled when speed = set amount (or)
(b) clutch in under 1200rpm (enable) and then clutch over this amount to disable

I've marked for improvements here:
http://www.nistune.com/mantis/view.php?id=163

adamky
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 4:54 pm
Location: Louisville, KY, USA

Re: Flat shift

Post by adamky » Wed Mar 02, 2016 3:31 pm

So, I'm just trying to figure out some possible options here with the existing launch control. Granted I haven't even tried it yet as my car has been on jackstands for 5 months. But let's say I do the following:
1. Set my launch control fuel cut and ignition retard up
2. Turn the speed at which launch control activates all the way up to the max speed allowed (255, I'm guessing?)
3. Connect the clutch switch to the power steering pin on the ECU
4. Wire an on/off switch between the clutch switch and ECU power steering pin.

This way, I could keep the launch control off for driving around town. But at the track, I could flip the switch, which should engage the launch control any time the clutch is fully depressed. This would not only engage it on launch, but could also be used as flat shift (no lift to shift), since every time the clutch is pressed, launch control rev limits would kick in, regardless of speed. Is my thinking flawed here? Is there a reason that this wouldn't work?

***EDIT: I see where you mentioned 1200 rpm as a factor to engage LC. If this criteria for LC was removed, would my idea work?

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8286
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Flat shift

Post by Matt » Thu Mar 03, 2016 6:59 am

Yeah it would work, but I would need to update the code

adamky
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 4:54 pm
Location: Louisville, KY, USA

Re: Flat shift

Post by adamky » Thu Mar 03, 2016 5:12 pm

Thanks, Matt. I just came back to the forums after a long hiatus and am just now learning about all of the new options in the feature pack. Fan control and launch control were the 2 things I've been looking forward to for years. Awesome stuff!

adamky
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 4:54 pm
Location: Louisville, KY, USA

Re: Flat shift

Post by adamky » Sun Mar 06, 2016 4:00 am

Oh, and if you want to start with S13 KA24DE, that would be okay, I guess. 8)

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8286
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Flat shift

Post by Matt » Mon Mar 07, 2016 7:45 pm

Once I make changes to the SR20 base code, it will roll though all other models :D

skylinegtrhr
Posts: 293
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 1:50 am
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Re: Flat shift

Post by skylinegtrhr » Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:35 am

Hi Matt any news about flat shift?

adamky
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 4:54 pm
Location: Louisville, KY, USA

Re: Flat shift

Post by adamky » Thu Jul 07, 2016 6:43 pm

Ditto. I've been checking this thread every couple of weeks to see if there any updates. Please please please make this happen!

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8286
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Flat shift

Post by Matt » Sat Jul 09, 2016 9:26 am

Sorry but it wont be happening for a few months

The existing workload I'm only just keeping my head above water with existing support work.

During this I am updating the new website and shopping cart since the current one will break in September when paypal move to SSL only. After this I need to finish up the testing for the existing feature pack and release that.

skylinegtrhr
Posts: 293
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 1:50 am
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Re: Flat shift

Post by skylinegtrhr » Mon Aug 28, 2017 5:15 pm

Hi Matt
so again :) any news about this?

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8286
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Flat shift

Post by Matt » Tue Aug 29, 2017 11:02 am

Nothing at this time. I've been focusing on the newer models and moving workshop over the last 12 months

Post Reply