Fluctuating idle with o2 sensor

Nistune topics related specifically to the 6303 cpu

Moderator: Matt

Post Reply
tomkun
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 12:16 pm

Fluctuating idle with o2 sensor

Post by tomkun » Mon Feb 10, 2020 2:06 pm

Hey guys so just starting to learn how to tune my own map for my s14 rb25det s1 and I'm a bit confused at the moment. I unplugged my o2 sensor and adjusted my fuel map and after taking a log everything looks good in my opinion. I was able to get my idle just around 14.7 and wot around 11.5. Now when I plug the o2 sensor back in my idle will sometimes drop back down to high 12s through mid 13s. How can i get my idle back to a stable 14.7 without it creeping back down to the 12-13s. Did I do something wrong with my tune, is it possible that my o2 sensor need to be replaced? Also can I just drive with the o2 sensor disconnected forever or does it need to be plugged in,
Attachments
Z32 Kun rev 1 Richer.bin
(32 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
idle_60.csv
(346.96 KiB) Downloaded 7 times

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8633
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Fluctuating idle with o2 sensor

Post by Matt » Mon Feb 17, 2020 9:13 am

Now when I plug the o2 sensor back in my idle will sometimes drop back down to high 12s through mid 13s. How can i get my idle back to a stable 14.7 without it creeping back down to the 12-13s
Start looking at the trims at cruise. So take it out for a run when warm and see where the trims are around 2000rpm light load. They should be near 0% when your mixtures are 14.7:1

If they are not then you need to adjust your K/TIM until they are and then idle AFRs should be better

tomkun
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 12:16 pm

Re: Fluctuating idle with o2 sensor

Post by tomkun » Tue Feb 18, 2020 11:12 am

Start looking at the trims at cruise. So take it out for a run when warm and see where the trims are around 2000rpm light load. They should be near 0% when your mixtures are 14.7:1

If they are not then you need to adjust your K/TIM until they are and then idle AFRs should be better
[/quote]

Would I adjust the kconstant if I have the FP and can use TIM?

I using a map my tuner sent me, its pretty much an off the shelf map he adjusted for the mods I have. I tried fine tuning the AFR by adjusting the cells the fuel map. Should I've adjusted the TIM first, then latency, followed by the fuel map?

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8633
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Fluctuating idle with o2 sensor

Post by Matt » Thu Feb 20, 2020 10:04 am

Start with reading our mapping guides. Otherwise I'm just repeating everything. Yes if you have TIM then use that to set your base mixtures instead of adjusting fuel map/latency first

Post Reply