Consult plug not communicating

Nistune topics related specifically to the 6303 cpu

Moderator: Matt

boarderline

Consult plug not communicating

Post by boarderline »

Hey, I am new to nistune. I just got nistune type 2 board installed in my z32 ecu to run my s2 rb25det. I wired the consult plug to my ecu harness and re-checked and double checked to make sure I wired my consult plug in right. Everything is where its suppose to be and i know it has power and a good ground. I turn the ignition on, start up nistune on my laptop and press connect but it will not connect with my ecu. says Consult not connected COM6:spare. I have tried every port on my computer I can and nothing. I know that the drivers installed properly and my computer see the cable and nistune consult.
the red light on the interface is on and when I press connect the Rx flashes once. What do I have to do!? Im stumped :(
Matt
Site Admin

Re: Consult plug not communicating

Post by Matt »

Does the car start and run okay without the LED in the Z32 ECU staying on? Need to check if ECU is limp mode

Do you have the original RB25 ECU there? If so select ECR33 RB25DET and try and connect to this. If that fails, it can only be the wiring to the consult port

Use a mutimeter and check 12V and GND on the plug. Then check continuity between RX, TX and CLK lines from ECU to consult plug. Also check RX/TX not backwards!
boarderline

Post by boarderline »

I actually have not started the car on this ecu yet. Last year I ran it with the stock rb25 ecu using the safc 2.
I do have the stock rb computer still, I don't understand how it would connect to that ecu without nistune in it? I have checked power and ground to the plug and those are good. I will check continuity of rx tx and clk. Just to clarify, on the rb25 harness, if your looking at the side of the plug that plugs into the ecu, 21 is first wire on the top row just to the left of the screw and 22 is right next to it? Then 31 is right under 21?
boarderline