new problem:o2 readings

Nistune topics specific to the 6802 cpu

Moderator: Matt

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8222
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: new problem:o2 readings

Post by Matt » Tue Jun 23, 2015 10:24 am

Perhaps. I dont have that particular ECU code here. It would not make sense this was working at one point in time, but is not working now

The ECU code reads the HD46510 chip, register #03 for the O2 voltage. This is showing no voltage. We are looking at the ECU internal memory before the Nistune software even processes it

midian
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 10:16 am

Re: new problem:o2 readings

Post by midian » Thu Jun 25, 2015 6:58 am

thanks for an answer, Matt.
I want not to solder spare one (keep it as stock J part).
actually, as I posted before -readings suddenly gone one day. I thought it's sensor blowed, it was 2 years ago, before my engine gone, and that time I hadn't p/n of spare, so, didn't check it and even didn't make overall fsm test.
well, will try to find used 88-89 (easier to sold), and inform you.
.
on last info-I newer meant you gonna sell totally green (untested) product ;-)

btw, main difference in at/mt ecus for type 1/2 in at feedback switch? (maps also a little different, but anyway-main difference)

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8222
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: new problem:o2 readings

Post by Matt » Thu Jun 25, 2015 12:29 pm

Yes feedback switch and maps are different. I haven't examined the close that closely otherwise for comparisons

midian
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 10:16 am

Re: new problem:o2 readings

Post by midian » Tue Aug 02, 2016 7:38 am

hi Matt!
got another ecu.
same o2 issue:
-feedback switch turned on,
-no errors,
-ecu flashing (as it should according to fsm),
still no o2 readings.

can remind-readings absence started 2 or 3 years ago, after software update.

midian
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 10:16 am

Re: new problem:o2 readings

Post by midian » Wed Aug 03, 2016 4:04 pm

as suggest -could it be address mismatch?

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8222
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: new problem:o2 readings

Post by Matt » Fri Aug 05, 2016 6:04 pm

Address files just tell Nistune what to display in the software (they contain locations of where maps are in the ECU)

O2 sensor when enabled and in closed loop mode should result in O2 voltage oscillation

Try rev @ 2000rpm and check O2 voltage. Does it move or just stay 'stuck'

If you measure the O2 sensor voltage using a multimeter, what is the value doing the same tests?

Also please post BIN file and LOG file showing issue and I can check it

midian
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 10:16 am

Re: new problem:o2 readings

Post by midian » Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:46 am

sorry on delay-was a bit busy at work and house deals, will do this weekend all (bin isn't a problem), also try to make a test with bypass wire (e.g. directly from sensor to ecu, probably resistanse of an old one is high),
also, as I mentioned -ecu flashes at 2000rpm, but probably due high resistanse of wire it can't process voltage.

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8222
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: new problem:o2 readings

Post by Matt » Tue Aug 16, 2016 11:21 am

With diag pot removed the ECU will be in diagnostic mode (flashing fault codes)

If the wires to diag pot are put together then it will flash LEDs based on mixture trims (green = lean, red = rich)

midian
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 10:16 am

Re: new problem:o2 readings

Post by midian » Thu May 30, 2019 12:25 am

4 years passed, problem solved 1 month ago.
Roman from Washington state, Z32 tuner, mentioned, that he met same situation, caused by improper base rom image writing.
so...
removed->jumper soldered->new base rom image (used 1987 EUDM, cause according to experience - closest to JDM VG) written->jumper removed->installed->02 sensor readings returned.
p.s. yes, I ordered base image programmer, when sent my board for restoration.

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8222
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: new problem:o2 readings

Post by Matt » Thu May 30, 2019 10:25 pm

Okay so mismatched base image to ECU hardware? What part number was on there? What are you using now?

Normally we use 26P0F/26P1F for Z31 FP for USDM models.

EDM models do not have an accessible part number lookup, but 1987 models are 21Pxx for turbo in our ROM pack

midian
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 10:16 am

Re: new problem:o2 readings

Post by midian » Fri May 31, 2019 6:21 am

it was 26p00,and was marked as 26p00.
i'll check which one within a week (laptop broken down) I use now,but adr file for eudm is the only in rom/adr package,for 87.
actually,newerthless it is 89 ecu, board type is similar to late eudm and 87 usdm,e.g. without soldering pins on board.
actually,I think it's just preprogramming issue, which could happen due large amount of boards reprogramming.
anyway,I think such info, probably, should be added into problems/solutions part.

p.s.also,as I mentioned in post on 2nd page(Wed Jun 17, 2015 2:41 am),back in 2010(or 2011,I don't remember exactly when I ordered board) readings were present,only after I got back my repaired board this case started.

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8222
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: new problem:o2 readings

Post by Matt » Wed Jun 05, 2019 9:33 pm

Okay I would be interested to know exact part numbers so I can compare them (whatever was in your board 2010, and assume is the same ROM image now?)

Post Reply