Increasing Boost - the best way to handle TP

Discussions concerning the M7790 cpu

Moderator: Matt

htczenit

Increasing Boost - the best way to handle TP

Post by htczenit »

Hey there,

quick introduction, I am a rookie when it comes down to engine management.
I spent the last year reading and researching everything engine management related. I just want to get
the knowhow to "manage my engine". Not because I am looking to make money of it and become a professional,
but because I have the urge to know how things work and I hate paying people to do things that I would love to be able to do myself.

Enough chitchat, lets talk business :)

After all theory I finally took the step and started with my car.
Quick setup overview:

Nissan 200sx S14a EDM with Feature Pack Nistune
Greddy FMIC
3'' Exhaust Catback
200ccpi cat
740cc Nismo Injectors
OEM MAF

My goal:
- get the 740cc Nismos to work correctly
- increase Boost on OEM Turbo to 1.1 Bar (16 PSI)
- learn in the process

What happened so far:
I fitted the 740cc Nismo and replaced my stock (370cc) injectors.
I thought about fitting a PMAS HPX Maf (actually it is fitted but not connected), but opted to stay the OEM MAF for now. The reason is pretty simple:
I did a few logs when running up to 0.85 Bar of Boost with everything OEM, and I saw that MAF Voltage was not exceeding 4,4 V , which reads about 60% of the max capacity.
A quick research showed that several other people maxed out the OEM turbo while using the OEM MAF.
Long story short, to save me the fiddling with K and a PMAS Sensor, I decided to keep the OEM (expecting to be more forgiving to novice like me).

I set TIM to 50% of the original value (512 -> 256) and simply adjust the fuel map by -50%.
Then I took of and adjusted the short fuel trims to a tolerance of 5%.

Car drives like a beauty on low loads, transitioning to boost is better then I expected it to be for know.
A few tweaks to the fuel map, mainly increasing fuel setup a rough AFR ratio for now.