86 NA2T project wont idle/pegs throttle then hits rev limit

Nistune topics specific to the 6802 cpu

Moderator: Matt

sharpen047

86 NA2T project wont idle/pegs throttle then hits rev limit

Post by sharpen047 »

hey guys i recently rebuilt my engine, put 500 miles on it then installed a stock t3, walbro 255, 420 cc mercedes injectors and a CM 3" downpipe.
right now it throws a code 22 in nistune.
when i try to start it runs super rich, and bogs out till it basically dies then pegs like i am flooring the throttle till it hits 2200 is rpm, i know this is a maf symptom but dont know what to make of it.
i am basically running a stock 86t with 420 cc injectors with supporting mods. so i tried a few different injector settings like 375 k constant and several latency settings from 79-1000.
I am new at this and would appreciate any help. i know i dont want to tune with an error code, but at this point it doesnt even idle for me to check anything.
AFR seems to be about 10.17 with a ton of fuel mixture coming out of the exhaust.

EDIT: oh right i have also tried getting base maps then changing injector size with the same problem.
Matt
Site Admin

Re: 86 NA2T project wont idle/pegs throttle then hits rev li

Post by Matt »

Code 22 is fuel pump circuit I believe. Should not be related to the current issue

My bets are on some type or airleak or similar since the MAF is probably not reading the correct voltage if your K constant is correct.
sharpen047

Re: 86 NA2T project wont idle/pegs throttle then hits rev li

Post by sharpen047 »

I found my idle controls are wide open. But I don't know if this is normal because I've always had an idle adjustment screw on the non turbo controls. I can keep idle down if I partially plug the iacv pipe. I followed the xenonz31 idle control wiring guide. I'm pretty sure fuel pump circuit is from the increased draw from the new pump. Which leaves maf and idle controls.