Issues with starting after K changes

Discuss software bugs and related problems here.

Moderator: Matt

oneten

Issues with starting after K changes

Post by oneten »

Hi All,

Im not new to Nistune but I am new to this paticular problem, so thought I would throw it up here and see if anyone can advise or relate.

Basically, had a bloke come round last night for a Nistune type 3 install into a redtop s13 50F00 ECU. The engine was running 850cc SARD's, a Z32, HKS GTRS and numerous other engine mods.
Upon installation, I found the ECU already had a daughterboard installed, which was VERY similar to a Nistune type 4 board (Had 2 x EEPROM's, 1 odd 1 even & what I can only assume is a multiplexer, I took pics of it if anyone is interested, its actually made by a company in Japan called GT WORKS http://www.gtworks.net/) so I removed this board and fit the type 3, CJ1 swap was already done for me.

Plugged the ecu back in, connected via Nistune no problem, sync'd the 50F00 map up to the ECU and then resized the INJ to 850cc, adjusted INJ dead time to 760ns and changed AFM to a Z32. Straight away the engine would not start, sounded totally dead like the coilpacks were disconnected.
Then I re-loaded the 50F00 map back into Nistune, re-sync'd the totally stock map up to the ECU and tried to start it without resizing INJ or changing AFM, and it started almost immeadiatly, but ran rough as guts (as expected).
I then shut the motor back off, resized AFM to Z32 and started her up again, ran much smoother but was seeing 10:1 AFR's at Idle (again, to be expected at this point).
I then shut it off, resized INJ to 850cc (which is K of around 17000) and adjusted INJ dead time to 760ns. And just like before, straight up, no engine life, wouldnt even so much as cough.