Nistune installed in the wrong ECU? (I think so)

Nistune topics specific to the 6802 cpu

Moderator: Matt

Tbstr3
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 3:33 pm

Nistune installed in the wrong ECU? (I think so)

Postby Tbstr3 » Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:59 pm

Ok guys I need some insight here.

- Nistune - says 36F05
- ECU - 2371M 36F15
- Constant DTC 13 Coolant Temp (all wires traced temp sensor changed)

Vehicle is 89 240sx with a built Ca18DET Ford Lightning Maf

- Additional ECU's owned (not Chipped) - Should I put the nistune in one of the following?
- 23710 36F11
- 23710 36F00

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 7951
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Nistune installed in the wrong ECU? (I think so)

Postby Matt » Tue Aug 11, 2015 1:42 pm

ECU is S13 CA18DET AT model (36F15) this will work perfectly fine with 36F05 board

Coolant temp fault code is a problem with the vehicle most likely. What does your coolant temperature value show inside the software?

If you measure the voltage of the coolant temp sensor on pin, what does it read? See attached pinout
Attachments
S13 CA18DET Pinout.xls
(23 KiB) Downloaded 48 times

Tbstr3
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 3:33 pm

Re: Nistune installed in the wrong ECU? (I think so)

Postby Tbstr3 » Tue Aug 11, 2015 11:06 pm

Replaced entire engine harness with brand new one (CA18DET), and coolant temp sensor. In the software the coolant temp Jumps up and down from 60 degrees to 199 degrees Constant also all down the left side menu of the software multiple selections highlight green on/off with the jump of the coolant temp.

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 7951
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Nistune installed in the wrong ECU? (I think so)

Postby Matt » Wed Aug 12, 2015 7:20 pm

What does the coolant temp signal look like on the ECU plug? Use multimeter and paperclips on probes to monitor

Tbstr3
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 3:33 pm

Re: Nistune installed in the wrong ECU? (I think so)

Postby Tbstr3 » Mon Aug 24, 2015 4:12 am

Thanks Matt, I ended up installing nistune into another ECU and it solved the issues we were having.

Tbstr3
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 3:33 pm

Re: Nistune installed in the wrong ECU? (I think so)

Postby Tbstr3 » Tue Feb 13, 2018 6:17 am

3 years Later I'm back! I purchased the vehicle from a family member, which has done nothing with it since built 10 years + ago.

Here's the Dilemma :
- The ECU I had Socketed for him and was working, is now causing the EGI FUEL Relay to Click constantly when ignition is on
- So I Removed the Nistune Chip and re seated it, now when ignition is on the fuel pump runs constantly...
- I put another ECU in 23710 36F00 MEC-D003 E1 - Everything works fine
- Its obvious it is in the ECU somewhere, but anywhere inside of it I can look specifically? or should I just socket the other one I have and go from there?
I seen some people with factory 240sx have similar issues with the EGI Fuel Relay Clicking with no Start, but I am not ruling out installation issues either, even though the install looks clean and tracing has seemed to have checked out.

I would love to trouble shoot the installation or the ECU, with some guidance on what to check, but at the same time it may time/cost effective to just chip another ECU

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 7951
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Nistune installed in the wrong ECU? (I think so)

Postby Matt » Tue Feb 13, 2018 4:40 pm

Sounds like installation problem with first ECU. Only way is to unsolder original socket and inspect all tracks and pads around it. Then put another socket it. Its what I have to do if I get an ECU which hasn't been done properly

Clicking/continous fuel pump is signs that its starting to run ECU program and then falls over because one of the 16 address lines/8 data lines/2 control lines is not connected properly

Tbstr3
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 3:33 pm

Re: Nistune installed in the wrong ECU? (I think so)

Postby Tbstr3 » Thu Feb 15, 2018 12:19 am

Thanks Matt, I am gong to finish Socketing this other computer and between the two ill get something figured out, and will report back.


Return to “Type 1”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests