AEM Digital Wideband UEGO Gauge with DLP-IO8

Anything related to the AEM brand of wideband devices.

Moderator: Matt

louiswun
Posts: 231
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 1:11 am
Location: Hong Kong

AEM Digital Wideband UEGO Gauge with DLP-IO8

Postby louiswun » Sun Mar 10, 2019 1:43 am

Problems :
Using AEM default analog output voltage vs AFR chart data, on DLP-IO8 to nistune, the AFR on nistune is around 0.5 point off to the gauge display.
I have tried set up a new CSV to match the display, it only works for a while, turn off the car and restart later, my new CSV to nistune is 3 point of AFR off to the gauge.
Is there any other way to import the real AFR to nistune ?
Or would nistune support the AEM serial output to display/log/trace the AFR ?
Is there any instruction ?
Thanks !

louiswun
Posts: 231
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 1:11 am
Location: Hong Kong

Re: AEM Digital Wideband UEGO Gauge with DLP-IO8

Postby louiswun » Sun Mar 10, 2019 2:33 am

I have just read the NIStune Software Users Manual V2.0
I can use the serial output from the UEGO gauge and no look up files (CSV) need.
Will this serial output display real AFR in nistune ?

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8121
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: AEM Digital Wideband UEGO Gauge with DLP-IO8

Postby Matt » Mon Mar 11, 2019 5:17 am

Yes of course the serial will display the real AFR. You could compare that against the 0-5V DLP AFR display if you wanted

If there is a difference in displayed AFR (which seems to fluctuate on your setup) then there is likely a drop in voltage perhaps due to wiring or grounding, or other inputs in the DLP not grounded which is affecting first channel of your DLP

louiswun
Posts: 231
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 1:11 am
Location: Hong Kong

Re: AEM Digital Wideband UEGO Gauge with DLP-IO8

Postby louiswun » Mon Mar 11, 2019 6:16 pm

The DLP setup is grounded to AEM power source ground, all channel in nistune is more stable, but the AFR still 0.5 point off, I can set up a CSV to match it.
I also set up the aem serial output to my notebook, but I can't get it work.
Is here any instruction how to configure nistune to accept the serial output ?

louiswun
Posts: 231
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 1:11 am
Location: Hong Kong

Re: AEM Digital Wideband UEGO Gauge with DLP-IO8

Postby louiswun » Mon Mar 11, 2019 6:26 pm

Set up complete, wideband settings seleceted "AEM UEGO Boost", AFR display ok !

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8121
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: AEM Digital Wideband UEGO Gauge with DLP-IO8

Postby Matt » Tue Mar 12, 2019 7:31 pm

But the DLP AFR is 0.5 from that AEM Serial output shows?

louiswun
Posts: 231
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 1:11 am
Location: Hong Kong

Re: AEM Digital Wideband UEGO Gauge with DLP-IO8

Postby louiswun » Wed Mar 13, 2019 2:19 am

Yes , if using AEM UEGO default P00 or P01 Voltage/AFR output table.
The table is from AEM installation instruction pdf.
The DLP to nistune will slightly off.
eg . AEM default 2.000V = AFR14
but I need to shift to next voltage 2.125V in order do display AFR14, still 0.1 point off the gauge.
PS. I haven't measure the actual voltage from the analogue output wire.
but I have verify the voltage output in nistune by create a CSV file like this
0000,0
5000,5
once the AFR display in voltage, compare to the AEM table, found that it is off.

The serial output to nistune is more stable and accurate.
Attachments
AEM default.jpg
AEM default.jpg (223.12 KiB) Viewed 109 times

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8121
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: AEM Digital Wideband UEGO Gauge with DLP-IO8

Postby Matt » Thu Mar 14, 2019 12:54 am

i found the LC-1 (-0-5V) DLP output and the MTS (serial) output to be pretty close. There must be a voltage drop. Perhaps pull ups or something else required. All unused outputs should be grounded to avoid fluctuations in data from the DLP


Return to “AEM”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest