DLP has crazy readings when it should be 0

Anything related to the DLP Devices IO-8 A/D converter

Moderator: Matt

djstatic
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 8:59 pm
Location: South East QLD, Gold Coast

DLP has crazy readings when it should be 0

Postby djstatic » Sat Aug 04, 2012 6:45 pm

The CSV for my aux2.csv file is:

Code: Select all

NULL2
0000,0
1000,0
1500,0
2000,0
2500,0
3000,0
3500,0
4000,0
4500,0
5000,0
(as well as au3.csv)
crazyDLP.JPG
crazyDLP.JPG (117.38 KiB) Viewed 2597 times

I did my first in-car log and I'm getting readings when it should be 0!

What gives? Is my DLP broken?

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8038
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: DLP has crazy readings when it should be 0

Postby Matt » Sun Aug 05, 2012 10:30 pm

I'll try it out. Thats quite strange. Even with the inputs 'floating' it should be looking up 0 for those I would think

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8038
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: DLP has crazy readings when it should be 0

Postby Matt » Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:52 am

Can you check you are adjusting the wideband folder selected in File > Configuration

I tested here today by the following

1. Wideband > DLP
2. This set the wideband folder to
C:\Documents and Settings\Matt\My Documents\NIStune\Wideband\DLPADConverter
3. Went into this folder and set the tables like you did

NULL6
0000,0
1000,0
1500,0
2000,0
2500,0
3000,0
3500,0
4000,0
4500,0
5000,0


4. Restart Nistune (required to reload the wideband tables) and then tested 5V against each line and the AUX4-AUX6 which were edited only showed 0
Attachments
dlp_verification.JPG
dlp_verification.JPG (157.27 KiB) Viewed 2536 times

djstatic
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 8:59 pm
Location: South East QLD, Gold Coast

Re: DLP has crazy readings when it should be 0

Postby djstatic » Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:10 pm

I'm sure I have the right directory and drivers. I'm switching notebooks (now that I think of it that could also be a cause?), so I'll double check everything. My DLP has never been as stable as yours looks and it seems to go nuts on the NULL inputs on deceleration. I get crazy spikes and dips from the wideband and MAP/boost sensor/gauge (Both AEM).

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8038
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: DLP has crazy readings when it should be 0

Postby Matt » Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:00 pm

this is on the bench. I'll go back to another different laptop in the car when I test with the next release

djstatic
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 8:59 pm
Location: South East QLD, Gold Coast

Re: DLP has crazy readings when it should be 0

Postby djstatic » Mon Aug 27, 2012 9:45 pm

Just driving around the other night, Different laptop (Old one was a AMD 64 so it could have been a driver issue) and all inputs showing actual volts.

AFR1 = AEM UEGO
AUX1 (Boost) = AEM Boost Gauge
AUX2 = Nothing
AUX3 = Nothing
AUX4 = Accelerometer Z
AUX5 = Accelerometer X
AUX6 = Accelerometer Y
NIStune_2012-08-26_1839_26.csv
(947.23 KiB) Downloaded 111 times

wtf.jpg
wtf.jpg (169.13 KiB) Viewed 2505 times

Somehow the inputs with nothing on them get 4.8 volts?

The UGEO has weird peaks and dips too.

I'm thinking it's definitely broken.

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8038
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: DLP has crazy readings when it should be 0

Postby Matt » Tue Aug 28, 2012 10:31 am

Can you change the names of AUX2,AUX3 to 'unused' and AUX4-AUX6 to Accel in the DLP wideband folder (this should be the one that File > Config is pointing to)

I'll give it another shot today on a different PC here to see if I can repeat

With the voltages flapping around that is normal since they are not connected and can be reading any noise and displaying this. The software when you set 0,0 - 5,0 should lock down all output voltages to 0


Return to “DLP”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest