installation woes!! type 2 board on hcr32 chassis (rb20)

Discuss hardware problems here.

Moderator: Matt

maxgohan
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario

installation woes!! type 2 board on hcr32 chassis (rb20)

Postby maxgohan » Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:40 pm

hey, any recommendations as to how i can install the board into my ECU?
its an RB20det on a hcr32 chassis

here are the pics outlining my problem,
http://www.dropbox.com/gallery/9263148/ ... u?h=a49d89

as you can see, my ecu is currently socketed by "as tuning by select" and it has some sort of blue chip holder/locker mechanism (metal bar to lock chip)

the metal bar gets in the way of the nistune board, do i need a new socket??

PLEASE HELP!!!

TM_S13
Posts: 246
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 11:29 pm

Re: installation woes!! type 2 board on hcr32 chassis (rb20)

Postby TM_S13 » Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:09 am

I believe the better way is to remove that blue socket and fit a normal socket in there...
quite an easy job, providing you have the tools for that and are handy with the soldering iron ;)

maxgohan
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: installation woes!! type 2 board on hcr32 chassis (rb20)

Postby maxgohan » Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:24 am

what would a fair price be to pay for that service?

i don't have the tools to desolder and resolder a new socket :(

CoZZm0
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 8:07 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: installation woes!! type 2 board on hcr32 chassis (rb20)

Postby CoZZm0 » Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:54 pm

30 minute or less labour charge from any electrical repair shop (TV/Video/HiFi).

If it takes them longer than 30 minutes with proper desolder tools they're doing it wrong.

If you're in Sydney i could look at it for you as i have desoldering tools that i use for installing boards.

maxgohan
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: installation woes!! type 2 board on hcr32 chassis (rb20)

Postby maxgohan » Sun Mar 27, 2011 9:00 pm

i'm gonna call a few tv repair shops in the morning

i'm in toronto so i'd rather try to deal with someone local rather than ship it...

i'll let you know if i decide to try to ship it!!!

thanks

maxgohan
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: installation woes!! type 2 board on hcr32 chassis (rb20)

Postby maxgohan » Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:36 am

CoZZm0 wrote:30 minute or less labour charge from any electrical repair shop (TV/Video/HiFi).

If it takes them longer than 30 minutes with proper desolder tools they're doing it wrong.

If you're in Sydney i could look at it for you as i have desoldering tools that i use for installing boards.


i'm in toronto, so that'd be a pretty far drive... ;)

bachig24u
Posts: 662
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 11:46 pm
Location: Austral, NSW
Contact:

Re: installation woes!! type 2 board on hcr32 chassis (rb20)

Postby bachig24u » Mon Mar 28, 2011 9:08 pm

I installed one last week, It's a little tight but definitely a no go with a ZIF socket.

Make sure you inspect the work from whereever you take it. I had to re-repair 2 tracks after a local tv-repairer had a go at installing a customer dodgy tuneup chip and butchered the board.

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8121
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: installation woes!! type 2 board on hcr32 chassis (rb20)

Postby Matt » Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:25 pm

Correct tools are the key. I'm seen some bad install jobs come in which required repair (some cases the ECU is a throw away job)


Return to “Hardware Bugs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest