Cheapest Wideband.

Any wideband device that doesnt have its own category yet.

Moderator: Matt

jonathanrmerritt
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:09 am
Location: Charlotte, N.C., U.S.A
Contact:

Cheapest Wideband.

Postby jonathanrmerritt » Thu Jul 03, 2008 2:43 am

Ok. I've been searching around forever. I know a little about what I'm looking at. but I'm still not sure. What is the cheapest way I can get out with a wideband o2 sensor to use with nistune?

jonathanrmerritt
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:09 am
Location: Charlotte, N.C., U.S.A
Contact:

Postby jonathanrmerritt » Thu Jul 03, 2008 2:46 am

I am looking at this.

LC-1 Lambda Cable (Standalone Wideband Controller) with 02 Sensor - P/N: 3769 - #3769

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8046
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Postby Matt » Thu Jul 03, 2008 11:35 am

It depends... the LC1 is great and logworks software is fantastic but there are no auxillary inputs. You have to purchase those seperately or use a DLP A/D converter

You get something like the zeitronix it at least has auxillary inputs to can view inside nistune

Julius Performance
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:42 pm

Postby Julius Performance » Thu Jul 03, 2008 12:27 pm

The techedge 2Y DIY controller is also an alternative if your handy with soldering. It is roughly the price of an LC1 (depending on options) but also has a few auxilary inputs as well as basic logging onboard, with a display inbuilt as an option.

Check http://wbo2.com/2y/default.htm for more details.

jonathanrmerritt
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:09 am
Location: Charlotte, N.C., U.S.A
Contact:

Postby jonathanrmerritt » Thu Jul 03, 2008 11:33 pm

So if I get the lc1 I can view IT inside NIStune? Why would I need aux inputs?

Bernardd
Posts: 253
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:20 am

Postby Bernardd » Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:35 am

you can log boost pressure, exhaust temp, exhaust back pressure, intake temps...stuff like that is really good to keep track of and can be done with the techedge.

jonathanrmerritt
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:09 am
Location: Charlotte, N.C., U.S.A
Contact:

Postby jonathanrmerritt » Fri Jul 04, 2008 9:30 am

I found a local dealer that had an LC-1 kit with a db blue guage. I splurged and got it. If and when I add a map sensor or something like that I'll go with an a/d converter from mouser. Shouldn't be bad shipping since I'm in the us.

jonathanrmerritt
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:09 am
Location: Charlotte, N.C., U.S.A
Contact:

Postby jonathanrmerritt » Fri Jul 04, 2008 10:05 am

Now i'm just going to focus on installing it. I'm thinking of mounting it on the cat. Seeing as how I can just remove it to weld in the bung.

kenbam
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 9:46 am

Postby kenbam » Fri Jul 04, 2008 2:26 pm

wide band sensors dont like a great deal of heat, the cat might get to hot for it if its working. I destroyed a WB sensor in less than 3 months because i put it where the narrow band one was, heat killed it.

jonathanrmerritt
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:09 am
Location: Charlotte, N.C., U.S.A
Contact:

Postby jonathanrmerritt » Fri Jul 04, 2008 3:08 pm

I gutted it. 8) Couldnt help it. Was bad anyway. That should be okay right?

kenbam
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 9:46 am

Postby kenbam » Fri Jul 04, 2008 3:10 pm

Yep, that'll be fine

jonathanrmerritt
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:09 am
Location: Charlotte, N.C., U.S.A
Contact:

Postby jonathanrmerritt » Fri Jul 04, 2008 3:18 pm

Around what would be the temp at the gutted cat?

kenbam
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 9:46 am

Postby kenbam » Fri Jul 04, 2008 3:52 pm

i suppose that depends on mixtures, usually around the 400 degrees point at the cat.

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8046
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Postby Matt » Fri Jul 04, 2008 4:45 pm

If you use the DLP AD converter you can feed your aux inputs into that and use it as WB1 using NIStune

Then you can either feed the 5 volt AFR output from the LC1 into input 1 (AFR) of the DLP or can use the Innovate/MTS serial connect of the LC1 to WB2 (AFR2) inside NIStune

Use the DLP folder but copy the WB2 lookup table from the Innovate folder to the DLP folder for either AFR1 or AFR2 depending which method above you use, and select DLP as your wideband folder inside NIStune

jonathanrmerritt
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:09 am
Location: Charlotte, N.C., U.S.A
Contact:

Postby jonathanrmerritt » Fri Jul 04, 2008 5:01 pm

Nice.... I know what next weekend's project will be! 8)


Return to “Others”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest