VEMS wideband

Any wideband device that doesnt have its own category yet.

Moderator: Matt

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8038
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: VEMS wideband

Postby Matt » Mon Aug 06, 2012 2:51 pm

This is what I got from your logs

0,1 = AFR [37][1C]
2,3 = O2 [00][00]
4,5 = EGT [01][DD]
6,7 = RPM [00][00]
8,9 = vmiscADC [00][00]
10 = voutADC [2B]
11 = boost [00]
12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,20,21,22,23,24,25,26,27,28,29
[42][56][98][66][E3][C7][5A][4C][3D][80][CC][C1][00][00][00][00]
30,31 = analogin [55][01]
32,33 [80 FF ] ***


There are two more bytes than in the protocol from VEMS. I'm assuming here its been updated for a newer unit so I'll have to try and detect when the new/older unit is being used. Waiting for an email back to confirm an updated protocol from them

Filk
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:37 pm

Re: VEMS wideband

Postby Filk » Sun Oct 07, 2012 9:56 pm

Did you manage to fix this problem?
I'm going for a dyno tune on tuesday and would definitely like to be able to use the AFR input from VEMS, but I also have the same "skipping frames" problem.

The AFR input from VEMS worked like a charm last year, but I haven't been able to get it working lately. Must be because I did a firmware update to my VEMS unit. I also tested with a friends VEMS unit, which is brand new, but it had the same problem.

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8038
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: VEMS wideband

Postby Matt » Mon Oct 08, 2012 12:12 pm

I have a VEMS unit here (latest firmware) and same issues

If you can roll back to the previously working firmware then you should be fine. The problem is that there are about over 20 different firmware versions with VEMS! I supported the extra bytes for the unit requested in the later Nistune versions.

There are protocol changes with many different VEMS firmware versions and I've so far worked out the following changes:

32 bytes
Version 0.20, 0.33, 0.4.0, 0.4.1, 0.4.2

34 bytes (+boost)
Version 0.46, 0.50, 0.51, 1.42, 1.43, 1.45, 1.46, 1.47, 1.50, 1.51

37 bytes (+PWM, analog2)
Version 0.52, 1.52

39 bytes [+PWM int]
Version 0.53, 0.54, 1.53, 1.54


This was after going through the INI file for each firmware version and looking at the protocol table for the round unit and looking at the table

Current test versions of the software support the 32 and 34 byte VEMS release. Use a firmware version listed against those versions. I'll add support for the other ones soon

From this I need to work out the version number from the VEMS and then make Nistune adapt to read the correct number of bytes. Its a pain.

I've emailed VEMS with come technical questions about retrieving the version info last month (9 Sep) but nothing has been responded to yet.

Filk
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:37 pm

Re: VEMS wideband

Postby Filk » Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:11 am

I tried almost every single one of the 34 byte VEMS firmwares listed above, but each had the same problem.
I could not roll back to the earlier 32 byte versions to try if they worked :(

Well, managed to tune the car anyway, came out with a decent 480hp/606Nm, yay.
But enough with the off topic, let's hope you'll be able to get a fix for the VEMS problem soon to help those of us who think it's pretty neat to have the AFR and EGT in one handy gauge but also be able to input the data into Nistune. Sure does sound like a lot of work to go through all the various firmware versions so take your time, we'll be patient :)

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8038
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: VEMS wideband

Postby Matt » Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:34 pm

I'm trying to get this wideband unit wrapped up

I've emailed VEMS again with no response to my questions. So currently I am probing the version string and parsing that (so far so good) and then using this to determine what to do with wideband poll responses

The supposed expected 39 byte string for the 1.53 release apparently is returning 40 bytes. Something doesnt seem right with the character definitions in the round*.ini files

This is different to the 32 and 34 byte definitions which actually stream those amount of characters.

I've currently programmed 0.52 firmware into my 'round' and expecting 38 bytes, but first frame returns 22 bytes, then I think the correct amount in frames afterwards

Its getting there, but this would have to be the most complex wideband so far due to the different versions. So far I've spent an afternoon on it. I'll have to continue work on Monday. Unfortunately this is holding up the current release

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8038
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: VEMS wideband

Postby Matt » Mon Oct 15, 2012 3:01 pm

Just to update... I've got this all working now. Tested with AFR and Analog1 inputs on the VEMS supplied gauge I have here

Also tested Analog2, RPM and EGT inputs using my VEMS simulator. Available next release

Filk
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:37 pm

Re: VEMS wideband

Postby Filk » Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:47 am

Sounds great!
I'll give it a go when the next release is out

Magic
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 9:52 pm

Re: VEMS wideband

Postby Magic » Fri Feb 05, 2016 6:03 pm

Hi Gents,
I too have the VEMS unit and have been for the past 8 years. I've recently moved over to NIStune, learning as I go along.

I have been reading all previous posts and can't seem to find a solution to my connectivity issues. I have a serial converter and subsequently bought another thinking the FTDI chipset was a fake in the first unit.

My problem is, once I configure the wideband through File/ Configuration etc.. it tries to find the wideband but then somehow loses the source.
Herewith my process of elimination:
-Com Ports; I tried various com ports.. 1-14 neither seems to work
-Driver updates for serial converter; I've read most of the driver info on the forum (Actually this helped me figure out how to get the consult
connecting consistently as I was having endless challenges with inconsistent connectivity issues)
-I also realise now that everyone is referring to various versions of firmware for the VEMS unit. Where do I upload these versions?

I am determined to see this work. Any arrows in the right direction will be appreciated.

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 8038
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: VEMS wideband

Postby Matt » Fri Feb 05, 2016 10:55 pm

This is a complex wideband. I'm not sure on the firmware versions, but you are best to start from the VEMS website

Do File > Configuration > Debug logging and with only the wideband (not consult) connected, attempt several connections and email me a log (info at nistune.com)

I can see if your cable is working or its a wideband issue.

The data format changes between various versions so I had to accommodate the different versions. Been years (4) since I've looked at these units

Magic
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 9:52 pm

Re: VEMS wideband

Postby Magic » Tue Mar 08, 2016 7:25 pm

Hi Matt,

Thank you. I have been driving without this for a month now, I will do the required and email you.

Holding thumbs we can resolve this.


Return to “Others”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest