Datalogging Motorola MPX4250

Any wideband device that doesnt have its own category yet.

Moderator: Matt

thommo
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:08 pm

Datalogging Motorola MPX4250

Postby thommo » Sun Mar 27, 2011 3:00 pm

Hey guys first post here

Just have a quick question about the Motorola Map sensor that i got from feescale.
I need to fill in the lookup tables for the sensor.
After reading the datasheet im still a little confused.
I think it is saying that 0v = 0kPa and 5v = 250kPa.

In the AUX1.csv i have 0v = 0psi and 5v = 36.259psi.

Is this correct. I am yet to test this as i wired the dlp converter wrong and fried it so i have to wait for another to be delivered.

Attached is datasheet for reference

Any help will be greatly appreciated

Thanks
Scott
Attachments
boost sensor datasheet.pdf
(258.97 KiB) Downloaded 241 times

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 7980
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Datalogging Motorola MPX4250

Postby Matt » Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:36 pm

Looks fine to me. I've got to test mine out this week

thommo
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: Datalogging Motorola MPX4250

Postby thommo » Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:35 pm

Thanks Matt ill give it a go when i get the DLP. Ill let you know if i have any problems

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 7980
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Datalogging Motorola MPX4250

Postby Matt » Thu Jun 16, 2011 5:13 pm

All running fine in the 0.10 versions with this sensor. Works a treat :D

ttcarguy
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 12:22 pm

Re: Datalogging Motorola MPX4250

Postby ttcarguy » Sun Aug 14, 2011 5:49 pm

S/W : Windows XP, NIStune : 0.10.11
H/W : Type 2 Board, DLP-IO8-DS, MPX4250 and AEM UEGO Wideband.

I am trying to display and log air pressure using a DLP-IO8-DS, MPX4250 pressure sensor and NIStune.

Note: although I have an AEM Wideband, it is not connected for the tests below. When it is connected it does not use the DLP, I use a separate USB-to-serial interface.

At this point 0 psi is being displayed as 9.00 in the Wideband window under Air Fuel Ratio and I don’t know what I am doing wrong (I assume 0 psi should display 0 in the Wideband window)

In NIStune, via configuration, I configured the Wideband Type as DLP A/D converter and entered the port the DLP is on. I modified the afr1.csv file in the Wideband\DLPADConverter directory (0000,0 and 5000,36.259). When I click on the ‘WB O2 LH’ button in NIStune, it connects and the Wideband window is displayed. The value that is displayed is 9.00. Aux1-Aux6 are 0.00. The value should be 0.00. When pressure is applied the MPX4250 the Air Fuel Ratio value does respond and increases…but I believe it is incorrect by at least 9 psi.

I am able to connect to the H/W via HyperTerminal. The output voltage is .20 volts when there is no pressure and the voltage rises as air pressure is increased. So I am assuming there is no problem with the DLP and MPX4250.

I have the same issue with NIStune 0.9.14.22.

Not sure this is related to the post viewtopic.php?f=18&t=1969

Help!

ttcarguy
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 12:22 pm

Re: Datalogging Motorola MPX4250

Postby ttcarguy » Sun Aug 14, 2011 6:31 pm

I tried moving the output signal for the MPX4250 from channel 1 to channel 2 of the DLP. I grounded channel 1 via DLP GND. I updated aux1.csv and NIStune now displays the correct value in AUX1: 1.48 ~ .20 volts. The AFR still displays 9.

At this point I am not sure why the MPX4250 has an output voltage of .20 volts as opposed to 0. Any ideas?

Matt
Site Admin
Posts: 7980
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Datalogging Motorola MPX4250

Postby Matt » Sun Aug 14, 2011 11:44 pm

On the DLP the first input (1) is tied to the AFR (LHS), so use input (2) for AUX1, 3 for Aux2 and so on

ttcarguy
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 12:22 pm

Re: Datalogging Motorola MPX4250

Postby ttcarguy » Mon Aug 15, 2011 3:26 am

Thanks for the reply Matt.

Reading the data sheet for the MPX4250 and it specifies the voltage range is .20 - 4.9 volts (0-36.3 psi). So my reading of .20 volts at 0 psi is normal.

Not sure why people are using 0000,0 and 5000,36.259 in the csv? 0200,0 and 4900,36.259 are more accurate.

I did not use 36.3 since this is a rounded value for 36.259psi = 250 kPa which is what the MPX4250 specs say is the max pressure.

Doesn't make a huge difference (~1.5 psi), but large enough that you would want to correct for it in the csv.

tastyratz
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:34 am

Re: Datalogging Motorola MPX4250

Postby tastyratz » Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:25 am

actually, to be even more accurate... reading from 0 psi as a start would not be correct. the sensor starts at 0 kpa which is -14.5037738 psi. Wouldn't it be more accurate to start at 200,-14.504 and finish at 4900,36.259? 0 psi atmospheric is after all, 100 kpa...

PL
Posts: 906
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 3:29 pm
Location: Adelaide, South Oz
Contact:

Re: Datalogging Motorola MPX4250

Postby PL » Thu Nov 17, 2011 9:28 am

I guess it depends if you want 0psi boost to read 0psi or proper atmospheric pressure of 14.5psi.

Personally I like 0psi boost to read 0psi.

I used my DLPIO with the MPX4250 last week and it worked a treat. Very happy. I used 0200,0 and 4900,36.259 and it appears to be spot on.

PL

tastyratz
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:34 am

Re: Datalogging Motorola MPX4250

Postby tastyratz » Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:30 am

I do prefer 0psi to read 0psi, I was under the impression that it would erroneously report by reading the white paper. I have purchased one but not yet used it.

Although I suppose it also matters if you purchased the absolute sensor vs the regular one? I was thinking the sensor ranging down to 0kpa...

PL
Posts: 906
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 3:29 pm
Location: Adelaide, South Oz
Contact:

Re: Datalogging Motorola MPX4250

Postby PL » Fri Nov 18, 2011 9:32 am

Yeah, depends which sensor you get. But those values work just fine for the "gauge" ported MPX4250 (MPX4250GP).

You could also use the Differential version - this would allow you to directly measure pressure drop across intercooler cores by connecting a hose before and after IC.

PL


Return to “Others”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests