RNN14 Pulsar strange issues.

Discussions concerning the M7790 cpu

Moderator: Matt

Ian

RNN14 Pulsar strange issues.

Post by Ian »

Ok, get ready for a long read.

First some backround. I'm a professional mechanic with more than ten years of experience, and lots of time spent diagnosing issues. I've also been building and tuning Nissans and Subarus for many years. My experience with Nistune specifically is limited, but I'm well versed in Romraider, ECUflash, PCLink, and a few other tuning programs.

The car is a 1991 RNN14 Pulsar GTI-R. Started with Stock engine, with Just FMIC downpipe, and Greedy Emanage.

Current owner purchased car. It ran and drove as far as I'm told, normally.

A build list was compiled.

The ECU was shipped to Florida. A type 3 realtime board with feature pack was installed along with a flex fuel board.

The ECU was reinstalled, and the Emanage removed. Either immediately after, or shortly after, (owner isn't sure), a hesitation developed between 2200 and 3000 rpm. If you're heavy on the throttle, it will pass right through the range with very little issue. If you're light with the throttle, there is very noticeable hesitation. More so in lower gears. The lower the load, the worse it is.

The owner asked me to install the following parts.

Fuel pump
ID1000 injectors
Fuelab adjustable FPR
AEM flex fuel sensor (continental)
Z32 MAFS
AEM UEGO
New ignition components
Nismo thermostat

Starting with a raw RNN14 FP file, I used Nistune to auto resize the injectors. Then I resized the MAFS. I 14.7d the majority of the low load fuel map. The car starts and runs. Manually adjusted latency to 990 and it idles/cruises at 14.7. Heavy load is very rich.