S14 SR20DET knock control question?

Discussions concerning the M7790 cpu

Moderator: Matt

S1RX7

S14 SR20DET knock control question?

Post by S1RX7 »

Hi,

I'm very new to the Nistune software and slowly finding my way around it. So be gentile with me :oops:

I have searched the forum and gone through the Nistune manual and cant really find what Im looking for.

I've tuned up my S14 (SR20DET) with the knock sensor off, next I copied the primary fuel and ignition maps into the knock maps so they are the same and did another pull on the dyno and the power comes down quite a bit.
Why would this happen if the maps are the same? Is there another compensation table somewhere that's knock controlled?
If I start making a map for knock I would think it will only get worse when it flicks to the knock map?

Can I ''dull'' the knock sensor down a bit in the software so it doesn't pick up every little tick of knock?

Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated!
PL

Re: S14 SR20DET knock control question?

Post by PL »

Make sure you have no fault codes to start with.

Beyond that it sounds like you have an overly sensitive knock sensor. Matt is digging more parameters out all the time but at this stage we don't have a way of adjusting knock sensor sensitivity as such.

You could play around and try putting high value resistors across the sensor to deaden the response a bit. But it'd take some experimenting and they're a very sensitive device so you'd need to use very high values. I'd start at 100kohms and work your way up. Fill IGN knock maps with something like 5 degrees so if it jumps to knock maps it's really obvious.

Personally I'd disconnect it and fit a 470 - 560kohm resistor across the pins. No more knock sensor problems. It's really only used to sense if an owner has filled with "regular" fuel anyway. If you look in the timing maps it's only monitored up to about 3500rpm. Any knock due to tuning issues will usually be above this point, so won't be picked up anyway.